If depression were a choice

Inspired by this post, I decided to give my own version of this topic. 

If depression were a choice I wouldn’t be lying to my friends, saying I’m sick and cancelling our visits.

If depression were a choice I wouldn’t be crying at night cause there just doesn’t seem to be any light left in my world.

I depression were a choice I would not be taking those pills that has a list of side effects long enough that I can’t even bear to read it properly.

If depression were a choice I wouldn’t be lying when I said I was doing fine.

If depression were a choice I would have finished an education by now.

If depression were a choice I would have been out in the world more. I would have met more people. I would have had more stories to tell.

If depression were a choice, leaving my house wouldn’t make me cry and shiver all over.

If depression were a choice I’d say NO!

If depression were a choice I’d march, rebelling against the choice, proclaiming the other side! CHOSE HAPPINESS!

But it isn’t. Is it? Anyone who’s ever gone through a depression knows this. You can’t say no. Depression doesn’t listen. Depression doesn’t just take a day off. Depression isn’t a choice.

 

Leave a Reply

